Rutgers Astrophysics Seminar and Colloquium Calendar
Fall 2019

Astrophysics seminars are held at 1:30 PM on Thursdays in Serin Physics room W330, with refreshments to follow in room W332. Departmental colloquia are at 11:00 AM on Wednesdays in Serin Physics room W330. Special dates and/or times are noted in bold in the table below.

Date/Time Location Speaker Title (click for abstracts) Hosts
Thu Sep 12
1:30 PM
Serin 401 Philip Mocz (Princeton) First Star-Forming Structures in Fuzzy Cosmic Filaments Tad
Thu Sep 19
1:30 PM
Serin W330 Yao-Yuan Mao (Rutgers) The SAGA Survey: Exploration of Dwarf Galaxy Satellite Systems Andrew
Thu Sep 26
 
  no seminar    
Wed Oct 2
11:00 AM
Serin W330 Gabriela González (LSU) Robbins Colloquium: Gravitational Waves Astronomy Kristy
Thu Oct 3
1:30 PM
Serin W330 Samantha Benincasa (UC Davis) The Life and Death of Stellar Nurseries: GMCs and Stellar Clusters in Cosmological Simulations Alyson
Thu Oct 10
1:30 PM
Serin W330 Anna Rosen (Harvard) A (Massive) Star is Born: How Stellar Feedback Limits Accretion onto Massive Stars Blakesley
Wed Oct 16
11:00 AM
Serin W330 Lujendra Ojha (Rutgers) Insight into the Geophysical Evolution of Mars from Remote Sensing Tad
Thu Oct 17
1:30 PM
Serin W330 Grace Telford (Rutgers) Using Metals and Stars to Constrain Galaxies’ Past Gaseous Inflows and Outflows Saurabh/Ray
Thu Oct 24
1:30 PM
Serin W330 John Forbes (CCA) Interpreting the Kitchen Sink: a Path Towards Better Understanding Galaxy Evolution Andrew/Yssa
Thu Oct 31
1:30 PM
Serin W330 Yacine Ali-Haïmoud (NYU) Two Tales of Black Holes and Anisotropies Yao
Wed Nov 6
10:30 AM
Serin W330 Jeremy Drake (Smithsonian) Chandra's Remarkable 20 Year View of the Energetic Universe Jack
Thu Nov 7
 
  no seminar    
Thu Nov 14
1:30 PM
Serin W330 Andrina Nicola (Princeton) Cosmological Probe Combination for Current and Future Surveys Eric/Charlotte
Thu Nov 21
1:30 PM
Serin W330 Kento Masuda (IAS) Are Exoplanetary Systems Flat? Tad/Kyle
Thu Nov 28
 
  no seminar (Thanksgiving)    
Thu Dec 5
1:30 PM
Serin W330 Toby Brown (McMaster) TBA Andrew/Anthony

Information for speakers


Past Schedules


Back to Rutgers Astronomy Group Home Page
Please send any Please send any comments on this page to gawiser [at] physics.rutgers.edu (Eric Gawiser).