Rutgers Astrophysics Seminar and Colloquium Calendar
Fall 2017

Astrophysics seminars are held at 1:30 PM on Thursdays in room W401, with refreshments to follow in room W332. Departmental colloquia are at 4:45 PM on Wednesdays in the Physics Lecture Hall preceded by coffee and cookies at 4:30PM. Special dates and/or times are noted in bold in the table below.

Date/Time Location Speaker Title (Click for abstracts) Hosts
Thu, Sep. 7
1:30 PM
  no seminar    
Thu Sep 14
1:30 PM
Serin W401 Mi Dai (Rutgers) Supernova cosmology in the era of LSST Jha/Camacho
Thu Sep 21
1:30 PM
  no seminar (Rosh Hashanah)    
Thu Sep 28
1:30 PM
Serin W401 Chuck Steidel (Caltech) Reconciling (and using) the stellar and nebular emission of high-redshift galaxies Baker/Wu
Wed Oct 4
4:45 PM
Physics Lecture Hall Josh Winn (Princeton) The architecture of exoplanetary systems Jha/?
Thu Oct 5
1:30 PM
Serin W401 Lou Strolger (STScI) The rates of supernovae, far and near Jha/Dettman
Thu Oct 12
1:30 PM
Serin W401 Kathleen Eckert (Penn) The mass functions of galaxies and galaxy groups in the RESOLVE survey Baker/Young
Thu Oct 19
1:30 PM
Serin W401 Adrian Price-Whelan (Princeton) Very wide binaries and comoving stars from the Gaia mission Brooks/Wright
Thu Oct 26
1:30 PM
Serin W401 Meredith Hughes (Wesleyan) Planet formation through radio eyes Keeton/Rivera
Thu Nov 2
1:30 PM
Serin W401 Daniel Grin (Haverford) Ultra-light axions and the cosmic microwave background Keeton/Iyer
Thu Nov 9
1:30 PM
Serin W401 Rachael Beaton (Princeton) Engineering the measurement of the Hubble Constant Pryor/Applebaum
Wed Nov 15
4:45 PM
Physics Lecture Hall Brian Metzger (Columbia) The multi-messenger picture of a neutron star merger Jha/?
Thu Nov 16
1:30 PM
Serin W401 Marc Favata (Montclair State) Highlights from LIGO's second observing run Somerville/Yung
Thu Nov 30
1:30 PM
Serin W401 Mathew Madhavacheril (Princeton) TBD Gawiser/Awan
Thu Dec 7
1:30 PM
Serin W401 Luke Hovey (Los Alamos) TBD Hughes/Arunachalam

Information for speakers


Past Schedules


Back to Rutgers Astronomy Group Home Page
Please send any Please send any comments on this page to ajbaker [at] physics.rutgers.edu (Andrew Baker).