Rutgers Astrophysics Seminar and Colloquium Calendar
Spring 2018

Astrophysics seminars are held at 1:30 PM on Thursdays in room 401, with refreshments to follow in room W332. Departmental colloquia are at 4:45 PM on Wednesdays in the Physics Lecture Hall preceded by coffee and cookies at 4:30PM. Special dates and/or times are noted in bold in the table below.

Date/Time Location Speaker Title (Click for abstracts) Hosts
Thu Jan 18
1:30 PM
Serin 401 Blakesley Burkhart (Harvard-Smithsonian CfA) Turbulent Beginnings: A Predictive Theory of Star Formation in the Interstellar Medium Eric/Humna
Tue Jan 23
1:30 PM
Serin 401 Kristen McQuinn (UT Austin) The Low-Mass Galaxy Frontier Alyson/Anna
Thu Jan 25
1:30 PM
Serin 401 Robyn Sanderson (Caltech) Insights into Dark Matter from the Stellar Halos of Galaxies Matt/Elaad
Thu Feb 1
1:30 PM
Serin 401 Daniel Scolnic (Chicago) Measuring Dark Energy With Supernovae and Kilonovae Saurabh/Kyle
Thu Feb 8
1:30 PM
  no seminar    
Tue Feb 13
1:30 PM
Serin 401 Eli Visbal (Flatiron Institute) TBD TBD/TBD
Thu Feb 15
1:30 PM
Serin 401 J. Colin Hill (IAS) New Information in Ancient Photons: Novel Approaches to CMB Secondary Anisotropies Jack/Peter
Tue Feb 20
1:30 PM
Serin 401 Chihway Chang (Chicago) Cosmic Surveys in the Next Decade: Mapping the Landscape of the Universe Chuck/Catie
Thu Feb 22
1:30 PM
Serin 401 Jacob Simon (Colorado) The Nature of Planet Formation TBD/TBD
Thu Mar 15
1:30 PM
  no seminar (Spring Break)    
Wed Mar 21
4:45 PM
Physics Lecture Hall Rebecca Surman (Notre Dame) Forging the Heaviest Elements Jolie/...
Thu Apr 12
1:30 PM
Serin 401 Jane Rigby (NASA/GSFC) Galaxy Evolution in High Definition Via Gravitational Lensing TBD/TBD
Wed Apr 25
4:45 PM
Physics Lecture Hall David Charbonneau (Harvard) TBD Jha/Yssavo
Thu Apr 26
1:30 PM
Serin 401 Vasily Belokurov (Cambridge) TBD TBD/TBD

Information for speakers


Past Schedules


Back to Rutgers Astronomy Group Home Page
Please send any Please send any comments on this page to jph [at] physics.rutgers.edu (Jack Hughes).