Seminars

Rutgers Condensed Matter Seminar Schedule

Spring 2021

Seminars are held on Tuesdays at 1:30 pm via Zoom for the Spring 2021 semester

If you're interested in attending a seminar and need the Zoom link, please e-mail edipaola at physics.rutgers.edu.

 

DayTitleSpeakerHost

Thursday, Jan. 7, 2021 at 1:30 pm
Internal Seminar    

Tuesday, Jan 26, 2021 at 1:30 pm

Flat-band superconductivity in twisted bilayer graphene and other systems Tero Heikkilä (University of Jyväskylä) Eva Andrei

Tuesday, Feb 2, 2021 at 1:30 pm

New physics in flat Moire bands Erez Berg (Weizmann Institute of Science) Natan Andrei
Tuesday, Feb 9, 2021 at 1:30 pm Magnetism at high pressures: search for quantum spin liquids in 5d oxides Daniel Haskel (Argonne National Laboratory) Sang-Wook Cheong
Tuesday, Feb 16, 2021 at 1:30 pm No Seminar    
Tuesday, Feb 23, 2021 at 1:30 pm Using Nonlinear Optics to Shed New Light on Topological Semimetals Rohit Prasankumar (Los Alamos National Laboratory) Sang-Wook Cheong

Tuesday, Mar 2, 2021 at 1:30 pm

From spin-orbital entanglement in Sr2RuO4 to spin-orbit controlled MIT in Sr2IrO4 Andrea Damascelli (University of British Columbia) Girsh Blumberg

Tuesday, Mar 9, 2021 at 1:30 pm

Topological magnon bands and periodically driven magnetic systems Greg Fiete (Northeastern University) Jak Chakhalian
Tuesday, Mar 16, 2021 at 1:30 pm No Seminar:  Spring Break    
Tuesday, Mar 23, 2021 at 1:30 pm Interaction and Topological Effects in Atomically Thin One- and Two-dimensional Materials Steve Louie (UC Berkeley) David Vanderbilt

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2021 at 1:30 pm

Strong coupling theory of superconductivity and flavor ordering in twisted bi (& tri) layer graphene

View Recording

Ashvin Vishwanath (Harvard University) Piers Coleman
Tuesday, Apr 6, 2021 at 1:30 pm Electrons, holes, and excitons in monolayer semiconductors: Insights from optical spectroscopy in (really) high magnetic fields Scott Crooker (Los Alamos National Laboratory) Sang-Wook Cheong
Tuesday, Apr 13, 2021 at 1:30 pm Measurement-induced Phase Transitions in the Dynamics of Quantum Entanglement Brian Skinner (Ohio State University) Emil Yuzbashyan and Jed Pixley
Tuesday, Apr 20, 2021 at 1:30 pm No Seminar    
Tuesday, Apr 27, 2021 at 1:30 pm Symmetry and optical properties of matter: terahertz spectroscopy of noncentrosymmetric systems in magnetic field Diyar Talbayev (Tulane University) Sang-Wook Cheong
Tuesday, May 4, 2021 at 1:30 pm Mimicking the edge of 2d topological superconductors and insulators in 1d lattice models Max Metlitski (MIT) Jed Pixley
Tuesday, May 11, 2021 at 1:30 pm Correlation-driven modifications to the low energy electronic states in iron-based superconductors Ming Yi (Rice University) Gabi Kotliar
Tuesday, May 18, 2021 at 1:30 pm Boosting square tensile strain to promote planar ferroelectricity, switchable bias-field, and electro-dielectric memory effect Yoon Seok Oh (UNIST) Sang-Wook Cheong


Please contact our administrative assistant Erica DiPaola (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.) with questions regarding travel arrangements and reimbursements. Seminar Organizer: Sang-Wook Cheong. Questions about the CM seminar schedule should be addressed to Prof. Sang-Wook Cheong (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.).

 

Fall 2020 Condensed Matter Seminars