2023 News

Rutgers HEX postdoc Olena Karacheban wins 2023 CMS Young Researcher prize!!

Sept 18, 2023

The Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS) collaboration has awarded the 2023 CMS Young Researcher prize to Rutgers HEX postdoc Olena Karacheban!!

Read more ...

Daniel Kaplan has won the prestigious Zuckerman Fellowship

July 11, 2023

Incoming CMT group postdoc Daniel Kaplan has won the prestigious Zuckerman Fellowship. He will be a Zuckerman Israeli Postdoctoral Scholar at the Department of Physics & Astronomy, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey for the academic year, 2023-2024.

Read more ...

Andrew Baker Receives Fellowship with the Harvard Radcliffe Institute

(May 11, 2023)

Andrew Baker, a professor of physics and astronomy, has been selected as a 2023-2024 fellow of the Harvard Radcliffe Institute, one of the world's leading centers for interdisciplinary research and exploration.

Read more ...

Chaz Ruggeri wins Chancellor-Provost Award for Excellence in Teaching Innovations

Apr 3, 2023

Congratulations to Prof. Charles (Chaz) Ruggieri on his recently announced Chancellor-Provost Award for Excellence in Teaching Innovations for 2022-2023.

Read more ...

Two 2023 Goldwater Scholarship winners in the physics and astronomy department

April 2, 2023

We are pleased to announce that for the 14th year in a row (and in 16 of the last 18 years) a Physics & Astronomy major has been awarded a prestigious Goldwater Scholarship.

Read more ...

Two graduate students and one undergraduate win NSF Graduate Fellowships

March 29, 2023

Current graduate students Lita de la Cruz and Nicole Firestone as well as graduating senior Eesh Gupta have received NSF Graduate Research Fellowships. Lita and Nicole won for projects in Astronomy and Astrophysics, while Eesh's is for Quantum Information Science. Congratulations to all!

Rutgers physicists provide theoretical insights on experiment involving a “strange metal” that could be foundational to next-generation quantum technologies


Read more ...

Congratulations to Kristy McQuinn our new 2023 Cottrell Scholar!

Feb 9, 2023

 We are pleased to announce that Prof. Kristin (Kristy) McQuinn has been selected as a 2023 Cottrell Scholar by the Research Corporation for Scientific Advancement (RCSA). The RCSA is America's first foundation dedicated wholly to science and is over 100 years old.

Read more ...

Saurabh Jha elected to AAAS Fellowship

Jan 31, 2023

It gives us great pleasure to announce Prof Saurabh Jha's 2022 election to Fellowship in the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). From the AAAS: "Election as a Fellow honors members whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications in service to society have distinguished them among their peers and colleagues."

Read more ...