Greg joins a rarified list of previous winners, which includes Sasha Zamolodchikov, also BOG Professor in the NHETC and Department of Physics & Astronomy, and former NHETC member Juan Maldacena, now Professor at the Institute of Advanced Study at Princeton.

Moore, along Alexei Kitaev (California Institute of Technology), and Nicholas Read (Yale University) were recognized for their interdisciplinary contributions which introduced the concepts of conformal field theory and non-abelian quasiparticle statistics in condensed matter systems and applied these ideas to quantum computation. Their work has played a fundamental role in recent advances in our understanding of the quantum states of matter and quantum entanglement theory.

ICTP's Dirac Medal, first awarded in 1985, is given in honor of P.A.M. Dirac, one of the greatest physicists of the 20th century and a staunch friend of the ICTP. It is awarded annually to scientists who have made significant contributions to theoretical physics.