The Prize is given "recognizing outstanding research in theoretical statistical physics, including quantum fluids."

Natan, who will share the prize with Paul Wiegmann of the University of Chicago, is cited "For the pioneering discovery of the exact solution of the Kondo and Anderson models, opening a new field of exact treatments of quantum impurity systems."

Natan joins Daniel Friedan and Sasha Zamolodchikov of the NHETC, who won the Onsager Prize in 2010 and 2011, respectively.