Oct 1, 2020

We are proud to announce that Distinguised Professor Joel Lebowitz has been selected to receive the 2021 Dannie Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics of the American Physical Society.  The citation for the prize will read "for seminal contributions to nonequilibrium and equilibrium statistical mechanics, in particular, studies of large deviations in nonequilibrium steady states and rigorous analysis of Gibbs equilibrium ensembles."

 The prize is awarded solely for valuable published contributions made in the field of mathematical physics and, although it may be shared by more than one person, Joel is the SOLE recipient for 2021!

Joel joins Greg Moore, who received the prize in 2014, as well as Nati Seiberg and Juan Maldacena who were formerly affiliated with our department.