Feb 17, 2021

Blakesley Burkhart and Jed Pixley were named 2021 Alfred P. Sloan Fellows. Blakesley and Jed are Rutgers’ only Sloan Fellows this year.

Nationally each year over 1000 researchers across eight scholarly areas are nominated for Sloan Fellowships, with only 128 fellowships awarded, so Blakesley and Jed are indeed in rare company.

No institution had more than 2 Physics awardees this year. Rutgers is tied with Harvard, UT Austin, and U Penn.   No other physics department has more than one.

Blakesley and Jed join current and former colleagues Jacqui Noronha-Hostler, Alyson Brooks, JP Chou, David Shih, Kristjan Haule, Emil Yuzbashyan, Alex Morozov, and Valery Kiryukhin, making it ten young faculty members who have won Sloan Fellowships in our Department since 2001.



More information on Sloan Fellowships can be found at: https://sloan.org/fellowships/2021-Fellows

More information at SAS: 



Please join us in congratulating Blakesley and Jed on receiving this well-deserved recognition.