(May 2, 2023)

Tom Banks, Distinguished Professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy and NHETC member has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences!

Tom joins six other active P&A faculty members in the National Academy of Sciences:

  • Joel Lebowitz (shared with Math)
  • Eva Andrei
  • Karin Rabe
  • David Vanderbilt
  • Gabi Kotliar
  • Greg Moore.

Two other Rutgers faculty members were elected as well:

  • Helene M. Berman, Board of Governors Distinguished Professor Emerita of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology and
  • Monica Driscoll, professor, Department of Molecular Biology and Biochemistry, Rutgers University, Piscataway, N.J.


The announcement can be found here: http://www.nasonline.org/news-and-multimedia/news/2023-nas-election.html

Congratulations Tom!