Faculty Profile

Gabriel Kotliar
Distinguished Professor
Board of Governors Professor; Director, Center for Material Design and Theoretical Spectroscopy
Member of the Graduate Faculty
Group: Condensed matter theory
Phone: 848-445-9036
Office: E271
Email: kotliar@physics.rutgers.edu
Homepage: http://www.physics.rutgers.edu/~kotliar/

Research Overview:

Our research efforts have two aspects. One the development of novel methodologies and their application of challenging new materials and phenomena. Our research spans the areas of many body physics, statistical mechanics, computational physics and materials science.
As of 2011 I had 51 publications with more than 51 citations ( h index 51). We describe a few of them briefly below to give a flavor of the research going on in our group.

One mainstay of my research program has been the development of methods for treating strongly correlated electron systems. We favor a combination of simpler approaches such as the slave boson methodology in conjunction with more accurate methods such as the Dynamical Mean Field Theory (DMFT) methodology for the treatment of model Hamiltonians.

News Item(s):
  • Gabi Kotliar awarded 2020 Aneesur Rahman Prize
  • Gabi Kotliar receives Carl Friedrich von Siemens Award
  • Gabi Kotliar has been named a 2017 Simons Fellow Awardee in Theoretical Physics
  • The DOE has awarded $12 million to establish the Center for Computational Design of Functional Strongly Correlated Materials and Theoretical Spectroscopy, led by Gabi Kotliar and located at Brookhaven National Laboratory
  • Physical Review Letters recognized 3 from Rutgers as outstanding referees for their journals
  • Rutgers Professor Gabriel Kotliar has been awarded The 2006 Agilent Technologies Europhysics Prize, along with Antoine Georges, Walter Metzner, and Dieter Vollhardt, for the Development and Application of the Dynamical Mean Field Theory
  • Board of Governors Prof. Gabi Kotliar has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences
  • Professor Gabi Kotliar is among the four physicists selected this year to receive a prestigious and highly competitive Guggenheim Fellowship
  • The NSF has funded a major proposal submitted by Gabi Kotliar, David Vanderbilt, Karin Rabe, and Christian Uebing