Faculty Profile

Greg Moore
Distinguished Professor
Member of the Graduate Faculty
Group: High energy theory
Phone: 848-445-9058, 848-445-9050 sec,732-445-4993 fax
Office: E362
Email: gmoore@physics.rutgers.edu
Homepage: http://www.physics.rutgers.edu/~gmoore/

Research Overview:

My work focuses on mathematical physics, with an emphasis on string theory, M-theory, and gauge theories more generally. My work places particular emphasis on the underlying mathematical structures and applications to and from modern mathematics. Specific research interests include:

  1. The theory of branes and generalized abelian gauge theories in supergravity. This involves interesting topological issues related to generalized differential cohomology theories, especially K-theory. There are also interesting relations to the theory of self-dual fields, anomaly cancellation, and noncommutative geometry.
  2. Effective low energy supergravity theories in string compactification and the computation of nonperturbative stringy effects in effective supergravities.
  3. D-branes on Calabi-Yau manifolds and BPS state counting. Relations to Borcherds products, automorphic forms, black-hole entropy, and wall-crossing.
  4. Applications of the theory of automorphic forms to conformal field theory, string compactification, black hole entropy counting, and the AdS/CFT correspondence.
  5. Potential connections to number theory. For example - I pointed out in 1998 that the attractor mechanism of supersymmetric black holes singles out Calabi-Yau varieties with relations to complex multiplication.
  6. Conformal field theories. Rational conformal field theories, especially applications to the theory of anyons and nonabelions.
  7. Topological field theories, and applications to invariants of manifolds.
  8. String field theory.
  9. String cosmology and time-dependence in string theory
  10. Does the alleged ``landscape of N=1 effective four-dimensional string vacua'' really exist?
News Item(s):
  • Greg Moore, Board of Governors Professor in the NHETC and the Department of Physics & Astronomy, is a 2015 recipient of the Dirac Medal, awarded by the International Center for Theoretical Physics (ICTP)
  • Professor Greg Moore has been named as the recipient of the 2014 Leonard Eisenbud Prize for Mathematics and Physics
  • Professor Greg Moore has been awarded the Dannie Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics by the American Physical Society
  • Joel Lebowitz, and Greg Moore, were selected as inaugural class members of the American Mathematical Society Fellows Program
  • Professor Gregory Moore has been named a 2012-2013 Simons Fellow in Theoretical Physics
  • Professors Gregory Moore and Thomas Banks have been elected to membership in the American Academy of Arts and Sciences